Progress Report

23 Dec

I tried on my sweater to see if I wanted to keep going a few more rows on the neckline or keep it as is.

I did my best to crop out my 7am witch-hair and my lime green t-shirt that I had on under the sweater.  🙂  Don’t you love taking pictures of yourself in the mirror?  You look so goofy!

But the sweater is coming along nicely.  You’ve got to love this top down technique where you can try on the sweater as you go.  I just slipped the bottom stitches onto a piece of waste yarn and kept the neck stitches on a long circular and it was easy peasy to get the sweater on and off.

I think I’ll do 2 more rows on the neckline.  This sweater is DK weight so it’s kind of light.  The yarn is o-so-soft to touch.  I may not wear it with a shirt underneath so I want the neck a little higher than normal – but not a turtleneck.

The moss stitch had me puzzled… how was I going to join the neck seamlessly when I’m knitting up instead of down?  Impossible I thought.  I tried twice.  The second time was close enough.  PLUS, I really need to take a class from a “master knitter” to ask questions about my techniques.  You can only learn so much from a book and videos on the Internet.  Like when I pick up the neck stitches, am I doing that right?  Sometimes I don’t think so.  I mark key points and pick up the same number of stitches between the points.  But on the slanted edges, I have a tough time figuring out how to pick up without creating holes.  Hard to explain…

Today will consist of fighting the crowds at the grocery store for the last minute food shopping.  Dan says I need to “enjoy the process and be in the moment”.  He just says that because (a) he doesn’t have to go and (b) he doesn’t want to pick me up from the police station when I belt someone in the grocery store.  I need to finish the laundry and clean the house.  Dan is taking the kids out so I can wrap a bit.  Mia might help me with that.  Cory should be home some time today.  This will be the last time before he deploys.

Speaking of deployment… he has been put on a list of “maybes” to deploy on the 2nd instead of the 4th.  WHAT?  My sister made a hotel reservation for us based on him deploying the 4th.  What the heck people?  Stinkin’ Army – causing more stress than necessary.

2 Responses to “Progress Report”

  1. Sonia December 23, 2010 at 8:58 AM #

    Really like the sweater! I would add the 2 rows to the neck too. Is the bottom gathered tighter than the middle like a ski sweater?

    • ginaquilts December 23, 2010 at 11:04 AM #

      I haven’t gotten to the bottom yet so I don’t know what it’s going to be like! 🙂 I’m just at the bottom of the picture knitting my way down the body now.

Leave a Reply

