Almost Done

21 Nov

And I really don’t like it!  Bummer… It’s blocking now.  I’ll show it on when it’s dry and has the buttons added.

Okay I have to start with the PROS:

(1)  I liked knitting in the round for the cardigan. Cutting wasn’t too scary although I’m not sure what to do with the frayed ends on the inside.  Do I cover them with a ribbon?  Do I leave them alone and they’ll just felt up?  I’m not sure about that.

(2)   I like the button bar and neck edge in garter stitch.

That’s all I like about it.  The CONS:

(1)  My whole gauge changed when doing the fair isle.  I can’t seem to get the tension correctly.  When I knitted the bottom fair isle (not shown in this picture), it pulled in.  I wasn’t carrying loose enough in the back.  So for the top parts I carried loosely – very loosely – and then my gauge got bigger too.  There’s got to be a secret to that and I can’t figure it out.  As a result, the sweater looks big on top – like an 80s jacket that has shoulder pads.  Yuck!

(2)  I thought my fair isle patterns were good.  They looked good in the Excel spreadsheet that I had designed them in. But the middle one is blah.  I didn’t add enough dark maroon.  I went back after it was finished and added the maroon V’s in the blue but I think it needs even more of something – maroon, pink, something to make it match the others better.

After it’s done blocking, I’ll see about adding some more color in the middle (maybe).  I don’t know.  I’ll add the buttons.  Then I’ll try it on and see after it sits a while if I like it better.

Next cardigan will be top down again.  I liked this method – maybe I’ll try again with a different yoke.  I need more practice in fair isle for my tension.

Meanwhile, I’m putting the knitting away so it’s not in the middle of the living room for Thanksgiving.  🙂  I need to quilt today to get the top done that’s been on my machine for centuries.  Then I can load a couple of quickies.

One Response to “Almost Done”

  1. bsburgess November 21, 2010 at 9:11 AM #

    I think the whole sweater looks great! I would like one in a pullover style. I don’t think anything is ‘blah’ on the Fair Isle patterns. BTW, I want to be stranded on a deserted island with you (and fabric and yarn!)

Leave a Reply

