Quilt Retreat

15 Nov

I went to a quilt retreat this past weekend.  I haven’t been quilting much lately and really wanted to concentrate on finishing some tops that I started this summer.   So I added borders to this quilt:

The borders were already cut – all I had to do was add them to the quilt.  That still took the majority of the time on Friday.

I had 40 squares done for another quilt.  They were just half square triangles and four-patches made from nickles.  So I brought all my nickels and made two more squares, set them, and pieced a four-patch border.  I like how this one turned out.

I only brought one other quilt top to work on and that was a t-shirt quilt.  That didn’t interest me at all.  It was only Saturday at noon so I had a whole 24 hours to kill…. so of course I started another project!  So much for finishing,huh?

I had the original Nickel quilt book with me and all my nickels so I started Paducah Nine Patch.

See that bottom block that’s a “clunker”?  I’m not sure I’ll end up adding that one or not.  I need some more “clunkers” in order for it not to stand out.

So this week, I think I’ll fire up my Gammill and get some quilting done on these tops that are starting to pile up.  Plus I have that sweater to finish…

One Response to “Quilt Retreat”

  1. Mom November 15, 2010 at 11:03 PM #

    I really like the first 2 quilts, but am not crazy about the last one. Glad to see you are going to start quilting again. You are good at it.

Leave a Reply

