Parent Teacher Conferences

5 Nov

I love going to parent-teacher conferences! I get to hear validation that my kids are awesome, wonderful, and all the other “wish-they-were-cloned” comments.  I thrive on that kind of validation. I don’t know why.

9yo Daughter – All A+ grades.  In her grade, A+ means 98% or above in the subject matter.  In the ISAT test results that were distributed to us (from last year’s testing/grade3), she scored in the “Exceeds expectations” level in math, reading, and writing.  Those are the only areas tested for some bizarre reason.  I think she was in the 94-95% in the nation.

12yo Son – All A+ grades and an A in Honors 7th grade math.  He missed an A+ by one percentage point.  Awesome!  His ISAT test results were in the 98-99% in the nation.

We spent the majority of the time talking to the teachers about getting some challenging, above average things going in their classes… please.  It’s a tough sell.  We don’t have a “gifted” program at our school.  There’s no funding and it’s a lot of work to put it in each and every class.  The teachers don’t get paid extra to do the extra work.  However, it’s needed – not only for our kids but for the other advanced kids in the school.  We can’t keep expecting so little from our kids and expect them to become the future scientists, mathematicians, and leaders.

Even at the college level, I try to give two assignments – one for what I expect from all my students to succeed and one for those who “get it” and need the challenge.  I offer a minimal amount of extra credit – like two points – for doing the challenging assignment.  But the students still thrive on those challenges.  I don’t necessarily have to teach a separate class for these advanced students. I give them the tools as to where to look so they can teach themselves.  I’m available during office hours and other times to assist.  So I know it’s “doable” without a lot of extra work on the teacher’s part.  But still my kids’ teachers think we are asking the for the world on a platter.

Anyway…

On another subject…

Like knitting for example…

I KNOW I said I wouldn’t start another knitting project for two weeks so I could get other things done. Remember that?  Well, I lasted 3 days.  I couldn’t resist.  I started a new sweater last night for me.  🙂  Sigh… no willpower.  But here’s the deal:  I’m not going to obsess over it.  I’m going to take my time on it.  Even though I’d LOVE to have it done by Thanksgiving, I’ll set my sites on a mid-December completion date.  That’s reasonable, right?  There’s no reason I should obsess over this project, right?  It’s pretty… I can’t wait to see it take shape.  And it’s challenging…

I hope I bought enough yarn!

 

One Response to “Parent Teacher Conferences”

  1. Sonia November 5, 2010 at 6:15 PM #

    Yeah for your great kids! A true reflection of their parents, who put the work in along with the teachers. A no-stress knitting project is OK. But you need to get into the sewing mode for the upcoming retreat!

Leave a Reply

