Google Voice

3 Nov

Do you know about Google Voice?  I just discovered it this week and think it’s pretty slick.  Here’s how it works in a nutshell:

1)  You have to sign up for a Google account if you don’t already have one.  It’s not ANOTHER email account – just use your existing email address as your user name.

2)  Google has phone numbers for you to pick from.  The one I picked out has the same area code and prefix as my home phone number.

3)  You add all your other phone numbers to this account.  I added my home phone and all our cell phones.

That’s it!  Now people can call that ONE new phone number and all of your phones get the call!  Now my kids don’t have to worry about whether to call me at home or on my cell.  Does mom have her cell phone on her?  It has its own voice mail which can be check by any of your phones AND the voice mail message is also sent to your email.  That’s pretty cool!

Finally…. IT’S FREE!

Is Google going to publish or sell that number so I get a bunch of sales calls?  I don’t know.  That may be a drawback.  I can’t find that anywhere in their documentation.  It’s still a cool idea!

Leave a Reply

