The Before Pictures

31 Oct

All morning I’ve worked on the treadle sewing machine.  Not sewing, of course, but trying to get it cleaned up and the moving parts “unlocked”.  Here are some of the “before” pictures.

Underneath

The Back

The Front

Head

In just the first pass, I’ve cleaned it up considerably.  The entire inside was caked with old oil and grease.  I put WD40 (as recommended by the Internet sites) throughout the moving parts.  They still aren’t budging.  I’m going to have Dan pick up some Liquid Wrench this afternoon and see if I can get anything to budge.

I found the serial number and from the Singer website traced the origins.  It was made in 1913 in Elizabeth, NJ.  It’s a Model #66.  From that information, I downloaded the original manual and was able to find the oil points and and some disassembly instructions.  I got out my featherweight to see how that works.  Even though the featherweight is electrical, it works the same way – on a pulley/belt system.

Now I’m at a standstill until I can get the Liquid Wrench and some manpower to help me.  🙂  I’ll keep you posted.

One Response to “The Before Pictures”

  1. Sonia October 31, 2010 at 2:13 PM #

    Cool! That’s kind of the fun part. Hope you get the parts moving. Coke? It takes rust off so maybe…

Leave a Reply

