Sleep

29 Oct

Why does sleep evade me so?  I woke up again at 3:30am – wide awake with a headache.  By the time I turn on the bathroom light and find the Advil…well, I’m up and there’s no going back to sleep.

So I surf….

And I think…

And I was thinking that the problem with the type of sweaters that I knit in the round is that the beginning of the round is in the front of the sweater – at the raglan seam.  I remember watching Elizabeth Zimmermann’s “Knitting Around” video the other day and she said she puts her beginning round in the back.  How does she accomplish that? What would I have to do to Gianna’s half-completed sweater to make the join in the back?  It’s important in this particular sweater because it’s striped and I don’t want the join in the front of the sweater because the stripes don’t exactly line up perfectly sometimes when you knit in the round.

So this is what I worked out at 3:30am (or roughly 4am by this point).  I’ve got the bottom of the body of the sweater worked upwards to the armpits.  I have one sleeve done to the armpits.  So… when I join the two on the right side, that’s usually the beginning of the row.  WHAT IF I unknitted one row of the sleeve, then joined it to the body.  That would make the beginning of the new rows in the back at a sleeve join!  Makes sense to me even now that it’s not 4am!

Usually I think about these things before acting on them.  So I laid down on the couch and tried to go back to sleep.  NOPE… not happening.  So I put my plan into action.  I re-wrote the rest of the pattern (my patterns are generated by a computer program that I wrote) and unknitted the top row of the sleeve and joined away.  What’s the worse that could happen?  🙂

I laid back down at 6am with peace of mind.  Unfortunately, I had to get back up at 7am to get ready for work.  Such is life… but some people have REAL problems that wake them up in the middle of the night.  I am grateful my headache went away and my only problem was a knitting problem.

One Response to “Sleep”

  1. DAD October 29, 2010 at 3:04 PM #

    Like Father, like Daughter. I wake up at 3 AM too. Toss, turn & usually get up & surf the net. Small world…DAD

Leave a Reply

