Continental Knitting

18 Oct

I’m a thrower or English knitter.  That means that I hold the yarn in my right hand and throw it around the needle when I knit and purl.  It’s a lot of movement which means more chance of repetitive stress injury and it’s slower.  I taught myself to continental knit (also called German knitting or picking) but I’ve been struggling with the purl stitch and also consistent tension.  I watched a ton of youtube videos yesterday on different styles of knitting and purling.  There’s Norwegian purling.  I watched those videos over and over.  Nope… can’t get the hang of that AT ALL!  There’s so much movement and the stitch size/tension was huge compared to my knitting stitch.  I tried Portuguese purling.  I went back to the basic continental purling.  I sometimes use my thumb to bring the yarn in place.  But the bottom line is that I’m getting better at the tension on both the knit and purl stitch.  BOTH are tighter than my English knitting stitch though.  I measured  and I knit about 4 stitches per inch on size 6 needles when I knit English-style.  I knit about 4.5 stitches per inch on the same needles (same yarn) when I knit Continental-style.

Here is my sampler.

I’m slow because I’m not used to the technique.  I also tense up a bit – I need to relax.  But I think I’m consistent enough to do a hat in the round.  I’ll use this method to knit Mia’s Where’s Waldo hat.  It usually takes me 3 days to knit a hat.  I better allow more time for this one.

One Response to “Continental Knitting”

  1. Sonia October 18, 2010 at 7:45 PM #

    Oh my gosh! It sounds like your talking about dogs from different countries!

Leave a Reply

