My Needles Came In!

3 Oct

I ended up purchasing the set of Harmony wooden knitting needles and they arrived yesterday!  I love them!  With the shipment came 12 skeins of Nutmeg DK weight yarn that I want to use to make a cardigan.  I put the socks on hold and started the cardigan PRONTO!

I had about 2″ completed when I figured out that I was following the pattern for Aran weight instead of DK weight yarn.  So the overall sweater would have been WAY TOO SMALL!  I had to rip out everything I’d done and begin again with the correct directions.

This pattern is knit on circulars but back and forth with no seams.  That means that every other row I have to purl.  I knit very fast but purl very slow.  Why?  I don’t know…  Purling also makes my hands and arms cramp up so I have to take frequent breaks in order to avoid getting repetitive stress injuries (i.e. carpal tunnel).  That’s one of the reasons I like knitting in the round so much – no purling.

This sweater takes 12 skeins of yarn so if I can knit a skein a day, then the sweater will be done in two weeks.  HOWEVER… how reasonable is that? Not very. I’ll set my sites on finishing in three weeks.

One Response to “My Needles Came In!”

  1. Mom October 3, 2010 at 10:29 PM #

    Love the color…You do such a good job.

Leave a Reply

