Ranting

28 Sep

Okay – I know this “diet” I’m on is making me super crabby.  I thought I had it under control.  But I just have to vent!

I went shopping at Joann’s tonight after many attempts to fix my buttonhole stitch on my sewing machine.  The fleece is too thick.   The coat is too heavy.  I tried everything I can think of and it’s not turning out to my satisfaction.  So armed with ideas for other closures, I went to Joann’s.  My 21yo daughter went with me.  There were three women working and three customers (including Mia and me).  I looked at options for snaps and other clasp-like closures and nothing was jumping out at me.  So I asked for help.  Here’s how the conversation went.

ME (to the woman at the cutting table who was looking at a work schedule):  Excuse me… I have a question about closure options for a coat.  Do you sew any garments?

LADY (not looking up from her schedule):  NO.

ME:  I see you have snaps of various sizes but what about magnetic buttons or frog-type closures.  Do you have those?

LADY (not looking up from her schedule): NO.

ME:  Really?  No magnetic closures for purses or anything like that?

LADY (not looking up from her schedule): Yeah, they’d be back by the purse accessories.

ME:  And where is that?

LADY (finally looking up at me like I’m an idiot):  In the back… (she points to the back of the store).

I was so PISSED OFF. How rude!  If she was busy, she could have called one of the other ladies over to assist me.  She pointed to the general vicinity of the back of the store?  REALLY?  Just wander around and hope to find the purse accessories?

So I’m boycotting my Joann’s store now.  I can see WHY there were so few customers in the store.  It was filthy and the customer service was awful.  I’ll go to Hobby Lobby or order everything I need online.

I sent their customer service an email with a shortened version of this post.

One Response to “Ranting”

  1. Sonia September 29, 2010 at 11:44 AM #

    Good for you! You did the right thing about telling the main store about your experience.

Leave a Reply

