Tidbits

27 Sep

I broke my sewing machine while sewing Gianna’s coat yesterday… threw off the timing by hitting metal.  I hemmed the sleeves by hand and said, “This is for the birds”, then set up the bottom hem for a blind stitch in the machine.  I hit the pressure foot with the needle and snapped it in half along with throwing off the timing.  ???  It’s been a while but I think I was using the correct stitch and foot!  So I finished the bottom hem by hand.  All I have left is the buttonholes.  I got out my other Janome machine that does automatic buttonholes and the test ones look terrible!  I don’t know if it’s that the buttonholer is not functioning right or if the fleece is too thick or what.  Crapola!  Now what?  I’ve tried hand buttonholes – those look awful – the fleece is thick enough to bury the stitches but it’s too thick to get even stitching on the right and wrong sides of the fabric.  I gave up for the night…

Here’s the plan for tonight:

(1) First I’ll try to make my own buttonholes with just zig zag stitching.  Might work…

(2) Second, I’ve been searching online for super large snaps that I can attach then put the buttons over the top.  I don’t think that’s going to work because the fleece fabric will pull right out but I’m going to look into what the possibilities are.

(3)  Third, what about those toggle-type buttons with straps that loop around them?  I can’t think of what they are named, but I could get or make the straps and anchor them to the outside flap with a square.  That might be my best bet.  (EDIT:  I just looked it up – they are called FROG closures.)

(4)  Fourth, I found a site that talked about magnetic button closures that they sell at Walmart.  I might give those a try.

Trying to turn lemons into lemonade.  I could wait until the machine is fixed but her heart is set on wearing this coat ASAP.  She was fighting me this morning because she wanted to wear it to school without the buttons this morning!  So I need a solution tonight…

2 Responses to “Tidbits”

  1. Sonia September 27, 2010 at 4:59 PM #

    I think frog closures will look cool. Nice to know that she appreciates the new coat!

  2. Gari September 27, 2010 at 7:45 PM #

    Your post reminded me of why I love that my daughter is now an adult. Even doing something nice for her could be a PAIN. She turned out OK, though. 😉

Leave a Reply

