I Bought ‘Em

26 Sep

I took the plunge and bought the Harmony needle kit for $85.  🙂  I really like the Harmony needles and now I’ll have needles in every possible size, right?  Sometimes the right tools make all the difference in the world.  I hope I like these and they are good quality like the Harmony sock needles.  I also bought some Stroll DK weight yarn for my cardigan.  I’m glad I did because I went yarn shopping at the local places yesterday and they had nothing but acrylic yarn.  I like the washable wool and I think Knit Picks has great prices.  So now I wait… up to 14 days to get the stuff delivered… it’s usually a week to 10 days so I will wait on that project.

So what to do in the meantime?  Well….  In 2007 I made a really nice fleece coat for fall.  I know it was 2007 because I always take notes on my pattern and that what the notes say.  I’m in need of another!  Here’s the pattern I use for that coat.

I bought a nice gray fleece that kind of looks like boiled wool.  I like it.  I’ll make to one without the hood.  I remember this pattern as “easy and quick”.  Hopefully…

Gianna was with me shopping and wanted her own coat.  So since everything was on sale at Joann’s, I got a pattern and fleece for a similar coat for her.  I’ve already cut hers out and it’s ready to sew today.

Hers is a nice brown color.  She has a brown and aqua book bag so it’ll look good.

For my “sitting time”, I started a quick stockinette style pair of socks for Gianna.  I did this leg last night while watching Harry Potter #3 movie with the family.

Since this yarn is so busy, there’s no sense knitting a pattern stitch on this one.  This is new yarn that both Hobby Lobby and Joann’s sell.  It’s 40% superwool, 40% bamboo, and the rest nylon for stretch/strength.  It’s got a great feel – I’m interested to see how it washes and wears.

One Response to “I Bought ‘Em”

  1. Sonia September 26, 2010 at 5:46 PM #

    Looks like great projects just in the nick of time for the cool weather. BTW, 2 women from the Village Quilt Guild have used that batting made from recycled plastic bottles and LOVE it.

Leave a Reply

