More Knitting Updates

25 Sep

One sock is completed and the other only needs the toe knitted and closed – about 1/2 hour of work or so.  🙂  I love this pattern.  All the socks I have been knitting come from the above book.  I like the way the author has the patterns laid out.  I’ve been working my way through the 4-stitch repeat patterns.  I think, if I include the K1P1 and K2P2 pattern, I can get 14 pairs of socks without a repeat through just using her 4-stitch patterns!  Then she has 5, 6, and 8 stitch patterns along with fair-isle and mosaic knit socks.  Theoretically, I shouldn’t need another sock book – I have all I need here, right?  🙂

The pattern for this sock was called 2X2 rib.  It had 12 rows in the pattern but was easy to memorize once I got started.

A funny thing about knitting socks… Last week I only had to knit ONE sock since one was already completed as a UFO. It took me a week to knit that one sock.  This week, I knitted both socks in one week.  In the past when I haven’t knitted both at the same time, it took me a week to knit the first sock, then 2-3 weeks for the second one because I was bored with it.  Knitting both at the same time is the way to go obviously.

I found the book below that I had bought a while back.  It’s filled with simple to complex cardigans.

They aren’t knit in the round per se, but are knit back and forth on circular needles.  I’ve not had good success with starting from the top and knitting down in the past.  I always mess it up.  I’ve had excellent success with bottom up.  Why?  Weird… But I’m going to give it a shot and knit a simple plain cardigan in DK weight yarn.  I need #4 and #6 circular needles. I don’t like the set of what I have now.  They are cheapy metal ones that I bought at Hobby Lobby.  I’d like to try the Knit Picks interchangable needles in Harmony wood but they are $90 for the set.  OUCH!    I would use them and I do like the harmony needles I have now in the small sizes.  I should just break down and buy them.  Knit Picks also has plastic and metal ones ($50 and $100 per set).  I have never knitted on plastic and don’t really care for the sound the metal ones make.  That click, click bugs me after a while.  So I should just break down and buy the Harmony wood ones, don’t you think?  Hmmm….

2 Responses to “More Knitting Updates”

  1. Sonia September 25, 2010 at 9:44 AM #

    Great looking sock. Do the socks stay up when you wear them? Why are knitting needles so expensive?

    • ginaquilts September 25, 2010 at 1:10 PM #

      I think they stay up. Good knitting needles are expensive. The circulars have to be seamless so they don’t snag the yarn. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

