Good News!

14 Sep

My oldest son called yesterday and he may not redeploy to Afghanistan!  That would be wonderful!  Now, I know he signed up and it’s his duty.  But he’s already been over there for a year.  He was in a heavy combat area and he has PTSD something terrible and has never had any counseling through the Army.  He was set to redeploy in November.  But evidently things have changed and he may be allowed to stay at headquarters instead.  His four years is up in 10 months so this would be a great end to his Army career.  But… the Army changed their mind numerous times so I’m not holding my breath.

During out cleaning episodes this weekend, I found a sock UFO.  It was just a single sock and everything was done except the toe!  Why did I stop?  And where was the rest of the yarn to do Sock #2?  After a hunt in the basement, I found the second ball of yarn.  So I finished the first sock by knitting the toe and grafting it.

It probably didn’t get finished before because it has numerous mistakes in it and the yarn is kind of scratchy.  The yarn was in a ball and there wasn’t a label to be found.  I’m not sure where I got it but it’s probably superwash wool – just not as soft as the Knit Picks Stroll brand that I’ve been using.  But heck…. it’s socks, right?  So I started on the second sock and have half the left done.  The pair will be finished by the weekend for sure.

I also found some Sockotta yarn.

It’s half cotton and half wool.  It has a different feel also.  I divided it into two balls so I could knit both socks at once some time in the future.  These will just be straight stockinette stitch socks because no pattern will show up with this busy yarn.

Off to school – a day of grading and paperwork!

2 Responses to “Good News!”

  1. Diana W. September 14, 2010 at 8:13 AM #

    That is great news. I pray your son stays safely on American soil and gets whatever mental help he needs. I am so tired of this war and really am ready for it to be over. Is this the year? I sure hope so.

  2. Sonia September 14, 2010 at 12:35 PM #

    Why hasn’t he seen someone about his PTSD? I thought the Army was very adament about speaking up and listening to the soldiers if they need some assistance.

Leave a Reply

