Well That Didn’t Last Long

31 Aug

So much for the quilting hiatus.  (Don’t you just love spell check?  Who knows how to spell hiatus?  What did we do without spell checkers?  I know what I did – limited my vocabulary! )

I started the next Florabunda block.

One of four flowers for Florabunda Block #4

I’m using the Jane Townsend method for preparing these flowers instead of the template plastic method.  The picture looks funky because of the flash.  I may use the plastic template method for the leaves.

The hat is progressing nicely.

My sister got us hooked on the sitcom “The Big Bang Theory”.  We don’t usually watch much TV – except baseball and football games.  But we like this series!  Dan got the first three years on DVD from NetFlix and we’ve been watching three episodes a night.  I’ve been knitting this hat while I watch.  I should be done up to the decrease by night’s end.

I left work early today to take DJ to the ortho.  It was nice to have a few hours to get some stuff done.  Besides the knitting, applique flower, and cleaning, I also made a few scrap pads for work.

Dan and I both bring home paper that’s in the “non-confidential” recycle bins at work.  For these pads, I just cut 8.5 x 11 paper in half to make sheets 8.5 x 5.5.  Then I use padding compound to make scrap pads.  We make them in all different sizes.  Dan made this vise years ago.  It needs longer bolts so I can make thicker pads.  But it works well.

3 Responses to “Well That Didn’t Last Long”

  1. Karen August 31, 2010 at 8:20 PM #

    I just read about your clamshell grid idea on Belinda’s blog and thought it was a wonderful idea. I’m going to make a smaller version, as I am only pinning and appliqueing down one clamshell at a time. Your clamshells are wonderful!!

    • ginaquilts September 1, 2010 at 6:08 AM #

      Thanks! The only thing I did differently than Belinda was that I used glue instead of pins to hold it together before appliqueing down. She made a wonderful tutorial! 🙂

  2. Sonia September 1, 2010 at 6:36 AM #

    I’m glad your done with your quilting hiatus! I love the applique blocks you’re doing. Don’t you love “The Big Bang Theory”?

Leave a Reply

