My Last Day Of Vacation

16 Aug

Well… work officially starts tomorrow with all day meetings.  I feel pretty good about my preparedness but I prepped over 3 weeks ago so I’ll have to double check that everything is in order.

Today I did a little bit of everything.  I debated on whether I wanted to get up extra early to get the most out of my day or sleep in late for the last day.  I opted for getting up at the normal time.  I cleaned up the garden then tilled it.  I want to try fall beans.  We’ve never planted a crop of beans in the fall, but beans do really well in our garden and we freeze and enjoy them so much.  It doesn’t hurt to try, right?

Then we went shopping for some necessities.  The younger kids’ teachers were posted at the school.  Both kids have good teachers and it looks like good kids in their classes.  They can’t wait to start.

Finally, I did some sewing.  I pieced another block of Ocean Waves.  I didn’t take any pictures because it looks like all the other blocks.  I’m up to 8 out of 20 or 12 – depending on if I want a queen size or lap.  I also made two Dear Jane blocks.  I think I’m up to 92.

E-6

I’ve been avoiding this one because the center is only 2″ finished!  Even paper pieced that’s tiny!  Wild fabric, huh?  I thought the busy print would detract from any mistakes I made.  I’m supposed to applique squares in those setting triangles but I like it the way it is.  We’ll see…

E-7

This one took forever and I don’t understand how I could screw it up so badly!  I english paper pieced the red.  Then I made bias tape for the window panes.  What the heck?  How can they cut across the centers on the edges and be so cock-eyed?  Dang… that’s a bad one!  Sigh…

One Response to “My Last Day Of Vacation”

  1. bsburgess August 17, 2010 at 2:55 PM #

    E-7 does look funky. At first I thought you scorched the white fabric and then I realized that the fabric had a light tan pattern. The small mistakes are going to be masked by the size of the blocks and the fact that you’re making a quilt the size of a tent! What was Jane thinking?

Leave a Reply

