Another Two Janes

15 Aug

I’ve completed two more Jane blocks today.

D-10

I had trouble with D-10.  I made it early this morning and apparently my brain was still sleeping.  I paper pieced the middle.  It came out perfectly.  Then I looked on the rotary cutting instructions for the light inner border.  I added that then paper pieced the outer border (it’s supposed to have half-square triangles in the corners).  The inner border was too big.  So I hacked it off…. too small now.  AND I sewed it with the tiny paper piecing stitch length.  Oh well… plain borders it is.  I made them way too wide then sized up the block just to be safe.  🙂

E-5

Fussy cutting the center would have been a good idea but I didn’t have enough left over of this scrap red.

Now I need some advice on the sashing color.  White with red cornerstones is one option.  That would leave the entire quilt as red and white.

Option #1 - White sashing with Red cornerstones

Option #2 - Blue sashing with White Cornerstones

Option #3 - Brown sashing with White cornerstones

With 1″ sashing (outside sashing is not shown), the quilt would measure 94×94 – because of the 6″ blocks!  I might cut down the sashing size to 3/4″ finished.  The 1″ seems to overwhelm it.

My design consultant (also known as my 9yo) really likes the brown option.  However it seems to take over the project.  Here are samples of the real deal.

Sample Blue Sashing

Sample Cream Sashing

Sample Green Sashing

Sample White Sashing

I really like the blue; but my family is leaning towards the cream.  The blocks have a strong light/dark contrast so a medium sashing would seem to be best.  I tried a bit darker cream and it looked terrible.  (The color was kind of like baby poop so maybe that was the problem!)  Light green and light blue didn’t look good either.

I still have plenty of time to decide since I have a gazillion more blocks to do.

6 Responses to “Another Two Janes”

  1. Sarah August 16, 2010 at 8:23 AM #

    I vote (if I get one) for the blue – it sets off the blocks nicely so you can look at and appreciate each one individually.

  2. Chris August 16, 2010 at 8:58 AM #

    I love the brown sashing.

  3. Tea August 16, 2010 at 12:17 PM #

    Blue would be my vote! Love your blocks.

  4. Lynne in Hawaii August 16, 2010 at 1:41 PM #

    My vote is the cream. It allows the blocks shine. I think the blue is too distracting. The white gets lost in the blocks with a lot of white. The green is not as distracting as the blue but makes it more of a Christmas quilt look.

  5. Melinda August 16, 2010 at 6:17 PM #

    I like the cream best. It allows the blocks to shine and doesn’t take over. Any of them will be great and I can’t wait to see what you decide on.

  6. Diane August 16, 2010 at 6:46 PM #

    . . . and I like the green! Haha–everyone like something different but frankly, every one of them looks good.

Leave a Reply

