More Experimenting

7 Jul

Next on the clamshell project was to figure out how to make the piece bigger.  Could I make blocks of these clamshells and seamlessly fit them together?

The answer is YES!  Here are the two halves put together on the design wall.  The secret is going to be to keep everything perfectly square if possible.  I think with a little help from the glue, the two parts would go together well.  I purposely made the second half smaller than the first so that the seam wouldn’t be down the middle.  So if I kept going, the third part (to go on the left bottom) would be smaller than the 4th so the seam is definitely scattered – just in case it wasn’t perfect.  If I keep going the four parts would result in a square a little less than 30″ square.  That would make a nice center for a medallion quilt surrounded by some stars or applique.  I think it would look good.

The questions that remain are:

1)  Can I keep it square or in straight rows and columns so everything lines up nicely?

2)  Can my attention span last through the project?  🙂

The second question is the biggie…

I also pieced a couple more string blocks for the String X quilt.

Since I’m pulling from my scrap bins, I take the skinny strings and piece them together for the String X quilt top and take the fat ones and make clams out of them.  I’m running out of lights so I might have to dip into my stash….  I only have two buckets full of light fabrics!  I think I can spare some small pieces for this project.  🙂

3 Responses to “More Experimenting”

  1. Sonia July 7, 2010 at 3:37 PM #

    I can definitely see appliquing big eyes on some of the clamshells! Just like the “Elroy was here” character. That would be hillarious and would keep your interest.

  2. belinda July 7, 2010 at 9:57 PM #

    I’m jealous Gina…..you are making LOTS of progress on your clamshells….they look pretty square and straight to me….and your string blocks are great too….I have always wanted to do some of these too…goodness knows I need to empty out some of my strips and strings drawer!!!
    Your green beans from your garden look just marvelous…we are big garden people too. I like the green beans when they are little and skinny and I just lightly saute’ them…oh wow…yum!!!

    • ginaquilts July 8, 2010 at 6:29 AM #

      Thanks Belinda! I always start a new project full speed ahead, then burn out! LOL I hope this one keeps my attention for a little while! I’m going to try your technique of drawing the clams on my freezer paper. I just have a grid right now that I’m pinning to. The whip stitching in the seam allowance really helps me keep the clams together without gaps while I lay them out. It’s a very fun project. I like to have hand applique work going at all times and this one is perfect right now.

Leave a Reply

