Design Wall Monday – July 5

5 Jul

My Design Wall consisting of: Anvil block (top); String Xs (middle); Clamshells (bottom)

Not too much on my design wall.  I spent the week finishing a t-shirt quilt.  It turned out great even though I don’t have any finished pictures.  It was huge – 93 x 109.  I have two more smaller, lap-sized t-shirt quilts to do this summer.  I also finished the floral applique block that was on the wall last week.

On the design wall:  The anvil block is still there.  I made some more half-square triangles and four patches.  I should put them into blocks this week.  I only made one String X block but made a few more strings – just haven’t added the triangles to the side and put them together into Xs.  I’ve been hooked on these clamshells for the past few days.  They are 3″ and are appliqued.  I am just pulling scraps from my scrap bin to figure out the process.  It is amazingly square – but only about 15″.  I think I’ll only do one more row and then start a “real quilt” using this technique.  I don’t know – maybe I’ll keep going on this one.  ??  I can’t imagine my attention span lasting for a whole lap size quilt but who knows?  Maybe I’ll have to add lots of borders eventually.

Stop by Judy L’s Patchwork Times blog to see more Design Wall Mondays.

4 Responses to “Design Wall Monday – July 5”

  1. Chris July 5, 2010 at 7:38 AM #

    I love the clamshells. I can see why you have been hooked on them 🙂

  2. CJ July 5, 2010 at 9:36 AM #

    I love string quilts, yours is going to be awesome! Love the X’s!

  3. Quilter Kathy July 5, 2010 at 9:54 AM #

    The clamshells look fabulous!

  4. Big Rig John July 5, 2010 at 11:55 AM #

    Love the clamshells!

Leave a Reply

