Design Wall Monday – June 28

28 Jun

First a finish from last week…

It looks like the border in the front bows but I'm pretty sure it doesn't. I think it's just the angle of the shot. If it does bow, it'll quilt out and be straight.

That was a fun and challenging quilt top.  I really enjoyed piecing it.  I went with plain borders instead of pieced ones because I had all the fabric in my stash and was ready to be finished with that project.

Then two potentially new projects!  I know… I don’t need new projects!

Top Left: Anvil block; Middle: String Xs; Bottom: Fun Applique

I should be working on the anvil blocks but I’m not.  I’m not ready to pull it off the design wall and call it a UFO yet though.  My string buckets are overflowing so I thought I’d make a quick and easy String X top from Bonnie Hunter’s Quiltville site (pattern found here).  I don’t know how many blocks I’ll make.  I’ll probably stop when I run out of fabric that I’m using for the light and dark tan triangles.  And finally the applique block!  I love it!  It’s from “Applique Delights” by Piece O’ Cake Designs.  I chose to make it 10″.  WHY???  I don’t know.  What a weird size… why not 12″??  I’ve got only 3 petals and a center to finish in the lower right flower.  There’s no real project in mind for that one.  Maybe I’ll just make it into a pillow top or put it with the rest of my applique blocks that I make for no reason.  🙂

I’m also working on a t-shirt quilt that MUST BE DONE BY FRIDAY!  It’s the quilt from you-know-where.  This morning I sewed two t-shirt blocks together when adding a sashing strip and also put a t-shirt quilt in upside down.  I’m down to three seams and the middle is finished.  Add borders and an all-over quilting pattern and it’s done.  Pictures to follow at a later date!

Go to Judy L’s Patchwork Times to see more inspirational design walls.

6 Responses to “Design Wall Monday – June 28”

  1. Amy June 28, 2010 at 9:43 AM #

    LOL…
    two words that *I* wouldn’t necessarily put in the same sentence….

    “fun”
    &
    “applique”
    ;0)

    POWER TO THE APPLIQUE’ers! I’ve attempted it on a few occassions, but I’ve decided to just leave it to others :0) Yours is looking lovely!

    Still loving the sashing on your R/W/B quilt!!! I need to keep that filed in my mind!!!

  2. Quilter Kathy June 28, 2010 at 9:49 AM #

    What a fun design wall…so many great projects going on!

  3. Vivian June 28, 2010 at 11:17 AM #

    I love your red, white, and blue quilt. Is it for you? I love Bonnie Hunter’s patterns and am thrilled she has so many on her website for us to use.

  4. Diane June 28, 2010 at 5:39 PM #

    love your post and all your projects, so glad to know I’m not the only one out here working on several things at once and a few with deadlines….aggghhhh. 🙂 But there’s nothing else I’d rather be doing, ‘cept maybe sitting on a beach…

  5. Gari June 29, 2010 at 12:04 PM #

    I did more unsewinf in my last top than all od last year. I really hope I have gotten that out of my system. 😦

  6. belinda July 2, 2010 at 8:00 AM #

    I loved you showing and telling about your different applique methods…I don’t guess I have seen the one you say is your favorite!!! Let me know if you post any of
    your clamshell progress!!

Leave a Reply

