More Quilting

16 Jun

I finished quilting the inner part of the nine-patch quilt.  This is what I decided to do in the border.

It’s not “out of my comfort zone” the way I wanted it to be but it’s turning out well.  It’s time consuming.  I have one of the four borders completed.

This book came in the mail yesterday.

You gotta love a book whose subtitle is “Really Hard Blocks That Take A Long Time To Make”!!!  Feathered Stars are on my bucket list of future quilts that I have to make.  It’s right up there with Double Wedding Ring.

Speaking of really hard blocks…

This is Block 6 from the Chocolate Stars quilt.  Ugh… little itty bitty pieces again and intersections that were bulky.  I also would have done the fabric placement differently than the pattern.  Live and learn.  Pressing instructions are crucial to good piecing and there aren’t any included with this freebie Block of the Month pattern. I printed out the next block and the cutting instructions don’t seem right.  I might skip it and put in my own 12″ star.

Camp is going well for my son I guess.  He calls home every night and talks to us for a few minutes.  I don’t think he’s getting enough sleep.  They moved up the bedtime last night so I hope he got more sleep last night. He gets emotional when he doesn’t get enough sleep (don’t we all?).

One Response to “More Quilting”

  1. Sonia June 16, 2010 at 2:31 PM #

    Wow! I saw a Feathered Star book that I was going to get when I was on the road. Our minds are on the same warp page? I talked myself out of it because of all the books I and you have already. This book looks great and should be a good challenge.

Leave a Reply

