Why Do I Do This?

15 Jun

Look at yesterday’s blog entry.  I said I was only going to do a block a day on this QOV sampler.  Then why do I have 5 blocks done today?  I get sucked into new projects like a vortex center!

I love working on sampler quilts because I feel like it’s a new project with each block.  I’m not particularly fond of how they look finished though.  Weird…

This block…

… was a bear!  Those are 1.5″ half square triangles finished!  The pattern called for the flying geese to be pieced as half square triangles also but I couldn’t figure out why that would be a better method than flying geese.  So I made them flying geese instead.  Some seams had to be pressed open as it was to eliminate the bulk.  There would have been even more bulk if I made those half square triangles.

So TODAY… I’m going to quilt the one on the frame and finish the t-shirt quilt top BEFORE starting on a new block!  Mark my words…

2 Responses to “Why Do I Do This?”

  1. Mary June 16, 2010 at 1:24 AM #

    I do this too…sometimes I just can’t stop myself when I’m working on a new project.

  2. Sonia June 16, 2010 at 2:33 PM #

    I like the blocks. I know you don’t like to quilt sampers but they’re good for your short attention span ;o)

Leave a Reply

