Summer Camp

13 Jun

We just got back from dropping my son off at his first overnight camp.  He was so excited and couldn’t wait until to get us out of there so the camp could begin.

My son is 11 years old and going into the 6th grade.  He is very bright.  His principal recommended that he apply to go to the “Bernard Harris Exxon Mobil Camp” this summer.  The camp specializes in science, math, and engineering.  It’s held at Northern Illinois University in Illinois, but it’s also held at numerous universities across the U.S.  They only take top students going into 6th, 7th, and 8th grade.  This year the camp had 350 applicants.  They accepted 48 campers – one of which was my son!  🙂

We went through a 3 hour orientation.  It was mostly for the parents – to make us feel better about the safety and welfare of our kids.  I don’t think my son will have any homesickness but I do worry about basic stuff like hygiene and his social skills.  I think he’ll be okay though.  He can phone us every night so I can hopefully tell by his conversations how things are going.  It’s only an hour’s drive to pick him up if he wants to come home.  Chances are that he WON’T want to come home – even at the end of the camp!

We had to bring all the supplies to stay in a dorm including bedding.  Not a problem since I have a gazillion quilts, right?  What did we leave home?  His pillow and quilt of course!  So a quick trip to Kohl’s was necessary to buy a regular blanket for his dorm bed.  Regular blanket?  I will be shunned by the quilting community.  Sigh…

My 9 year old has softball camp every morning next week.  So I should get some school work done and some QUILTING!  Right?  We’ll see.

Also, Hawk is going home with my oldest boy.  I will miss him terribly but he is high- maintenance.  No more chewed up stuff… no more walking/running him to death in the morning…  I think my son is in for a rude awakening with this “easy, perfect dog”.  LOL

One Response to “Summer Camp”

  1. Sonia June 14, 2010 at 5:20 PM #

    Yeah for DJ! I hope he really enjoys the camp and that he gets to do some real good math/science/engineering projects.

Leave a Reply

