Lone Star Quilt

9 Jun

Here is my lone star quilt.  I made it at least 4 years ago at a retreat.  I’m not crazy about the fabrics.  First the background is too light.  Second, what’s up with those 70s colors that I chose?  What can be done to make this a decent quilt?

First I can reduce or eliminate the light  background.

I could swap out that light fabric for the golden brown fabric.  The lone star would look more like a sunburst with points hanging out there.

But it would be awful dark then.  I have these drawings…  I like the first one best but it doesn’t “go with” the quilt.  It looks like a flower and this quilt is not floral at all.

I like this drawing a lot but then I’m adding a lot more light fabric around the star.

Miniature lone stars in the corners.

Or maybe I’m just trying to salvage a quilt top that I really don’t like – and just maybe I should say it’s a mistake.  I can slap on a single large border, quilt it up, and give it away.  Then some day I’ll make another lone star quilt in colors and fabrics that I like and then these drawings can come in handy.  What do you think?

2 Responses to “Lone Star Quilt”

  1. Sonia June 9, 2010 at 10:12 PM #

    I think that you should proceed with one of the plans. I like the ‘flower’ pattern because I don’t think it looks like a flower but it can look Meditaranian (why can’t I spell that word?)Persian rug like. Keep the light fabric and then applique inside it. I think the dark fabric is a little too dark unless you add a POP of color to separate the star from the dark fabric. You can do this!!!

  2. michelle lange June 10, 2010 at 10:43 PM #

    I would think about applique in the white areas, urns or baskets with flowers in the corners and sprays of flowers in the triangles. Do it with fuseable web and the machine so it gets done quickly (since you aren’t in love with it) and adding a single fabric border of the gold and then quilt the daylights out of it. This could be one of those quilts that doesn’t really come to life until the quilting is done. Or do something totally crazy like…. cut it into fourths and make 4 giant pillows!

Leave a Reply

