Another Top Completed

1 Jun

Done!  I’m not sure what to call it – Sunshine and Shadow Nine Patch?  Bipolar Quilt?  But it’s done.  It was a fun top because it had a little bit of everything and kept my interest going.  I haven’t mitered borders in a while and they turned out great.  The white leaves are closer together at the border intersection because I did a measurement error.  It’s just slightly and the two applique elements are so far apart that it won’t bug me.  I enjoyed designing the border and I learned a lot from this top.  That’s what it’s all about – the process.  I’ll keep this one.  It’s a nice big lap – 75×85 or something like that.

If I were to do it again….

1)  I’d make the nine-patches smaller.  These finish at 4.5″.  I think 3″ would be a good size.

2)  I’d make the whole quilt top like the light side and put the dark borders on it.  I like the applique in just the corners because it was “doable” and not overwhelming.  I might stick with that.  (Is doable a word?  Spell check isn’t flagging it!)

I also cleaned my sewing room yesterday.  We cleaned the whole basement in fact.  At least it’s in a passable state now.

Today’s agenda includes quilting the blue applique quilt.  I hope to finish that before the kids get home at 2:00pm.  We have softball and baseball games tonight.  The mosquitoes are SO BAD they are like a freaky B movie!  I put bug spray on the kids before going to school because they have “play day” outside today and it’s bad!  I put some on before my walk this morning with Hawk and I think it helped.  I’ll need extra heavy spray for the games tonight.  Yuck!

2 Responses to “Another Top Completed”

  1. isathreadsoflife June 1, 2010 at 2:26 PM #

    Beautiful ! love the contrast in colours, your applique leaves are gorgeous.

  2. Sonia June 1, 2010 at 6:10 PM #

    Very nice AND finished. Ya gotta love that 😉

Leave a Reply

