Hawk

27 May

Hawk - One Year Old Lab

Hawk has been staying with us since Saturday so we are on day 6 with him.  He has NOT had a single accident in the house.  He’s just a great dog.  He knows how to fetch AND RELEASES the ball when he brings it to you.  I’ve never had a dog release the ball without prying it from his mouth!  His arch nemesis is the squirrel and he thinks it’s his job to rid the world of them.  He stays in my yard and follows me around constantly.  He was really pulling me when we walked so I have been looping the leash around my waist and we don’t move unless there is slack in the leash line.  It’s working out really well.  Of course I play fetch with him for about 10 minutes before we go on the walk then we walk for 2 miles.  But he’s beginning to understand “heel” and if there are no squirrels around, he is learning to walk wonderfully.  He stays in his crate at night without whining.  But during the day he just goes into whatever room I’m in and lays down near where I am.

I hope Cory doesn’t “ruin him” when he takes him next week.  Hawk is a lot of work and I’m home right now to be with him.  Cory works a lot so I hope he has a good support system to help exercise and watch Hawk.

4 Responses to “Hawk”

  1. Diana W. May 27, 2010 at 9:05 AM #

    You just described my sweet Lab Thor (aka Thor MAN) Labs are just the best loyal, kind dogs there are. Mine barks a lot though…He just can’t help himself! I think you should get a lab of your own when Hawk leaves….mark my words, you will miss him!

    • ginaquilts May 28, 2010 at 12:19 PM #

      I’ve never been real crazy about labs but they are smart and fun to be with. I will miss him when he leaves – if he leaves. Cory decided that he needs one more week to get into a new place that is closer to base and takes dogs. That may turn into a month easily. Dan just asked if I am willing to take him full time if Cory’s plans fall through. LOL How do I get into these deals?

  2. sonia May 28, 2010 at 8:12 PM #

    Hey, I think you have a typo on your blog page! Too many s’s

    • ginaquilts May 29, 2010 at 6:14 AM #

      Do you mean the title? I checked with an English teacher when I created the blog. Since ginaquilts is the title and ends with an s, the “Elements of Style” says that you should add an ‘s. According to the English teacher, that’s the preferred style. You could alternatively use s’ though.

      http://grammar.ccc.commnet.edu/grammar/possessives.htm

Leave a Reply

