Design Wall Monday May 17

17 May

Both projects from last week are still on my design wall this week.  I worked hard on my applique borders.  I completed two and added them to the center of the quilt top.

They turned out okay.  I think the stemmed leaves look “weird”.  I’m fairly new at making up applique designs so there are bound to  be some weird ones I guess.   I have the  hardest time keeping symmetrical designs symmetrical but I think I did okay on these mirrored designs.  Now I have to work on the dark borders with light applique.  I’m trying to figure out what color (I think I only have enough fabric of a dark red in my stash).  And I have to figure out how to mark the  applique.  The fabric can’t be so dark that I can’t see through the fabric on a light box when I trace the pattern.

I made a few more of the pieced blocks that were on my design wall last week also.

Nickel project

I’m out of four-patches.  I need to make some more before I can continue.  If I don’t make it to 120 blocks, I’m sure a lap sized quilt will be fine.

Finally, not quilt related, I made a dress for my 9yo (picture here).  It turned out great!  Now I have to make two more “fancy” versions for a wedding in three weeks.  I should get those done this week for sure.

Go to Judy L.’s Patchwork Times to see more design walls this Monday.

10 Responses to “Design Wall Monday May 17”

  1. Diane May 17, 2010 at 6:14 AM #

    Your stems aren’t weird at all-terrific work.

  2. Tea May 17, 2010 at 8:07 AM #

    I like your applique border; very pretty. The dress you made looks pretty darn good in the test fabric. Great job!

  3. DAD May 17, 2010 at 8:36 AM #

    Maybe if all of the leaves weren’t the same size, it would look different…DAD

    • ginaquilts May 17, 2010 at 10:16 AM #

      Good point Dad. I forget about varying the scale.

  4. Kathy May 17, 2010 at 10:06 AM #

    I think the applique looks great!
    I would rather sew a thousand applique borders than have to sew a dress 🙂

  5. sarah May 17, 2010 at 10:34 AM #

    I like the appliqued border as is but your Dad has a point about varying the scale. Love the scrappy colors!

  6. sophie May 17, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

    I think you’re being too hard on yourself … the stemmed leaves are really fine. I’ll bet, with time, you’ll like them, too. It’s a fantastic appliqué border.

  7. michelle lange May 17, 2010 at 11:13 AM #

    The vines look great! And I love both the scrappy quilts you are working on!

  8. Sonia May 17, 2010 at 3:36 PM #

    Love the applique border so far.

  9. Linda Cox May 17, 2010 at 6:25 PM #

    I don’t think the stemmed leaves look weird at all. They add visual interest and a lively spark to a beautiful border! Great job!

Leave a Reply

