Exhausted

14 May

I was up at 3am today.  Wide awake.  Worrying…

About exam grading?  no… About not getting those flower girl dresses done in time?  no….  About my daughter’s softball team?  Bingo!

I volunteered to coach my daughter’s softball team.  These are 7 and 8 year old girls in an instructional league.  I have 3 wonderful assistants.  WHY WOULD I LOSE SLEEP OVER THIS?  Because I’m psycho.

The season hasn’t even started yet.  We’ve been practicing about 2 times a week since the first week of April.  So what’s the problem?

The problem is that I have 12 players but only 4 “players”.  We’ve been working with the other 8 girls but I’m not sure how much they are improving.  Are we doing all we can to improve their skills?  Is there more that we should doing? Why are they still  chopping at the ball?  Are the girls having fun?  Am I a fun-killer?

I really don’t care if we win or lose.  This is an instructional league.  I want them to have fun and enjoy themselves.  I would like the girls to be “in” every game and not blown out – 12-0 or something.  I don’t want anyone to get hurt because they can’t catch the ball and it hits them.

These are the thoughts that are going through my mind at 3am.  What?  I’m psycho.  I need to be committed.  This is the LAST time I’m coaching.  I will help but I hate being in charge.  Too much responsibility.

One Response to “Exhausted”

  1. Diana W. May 14, 2010 at 4:16 PM #

    Tell the girls their “homework” is playing catch for 10 minutes every day. Playing catch on a regular basis improves their hand to eye coordination a LOT and it builds up the stamina for spending hours on the field. Also, they will most likely LIKE playing catch an put more time into this exercise! Catching is very important in the fielding, then work on batting and the rules while at practice. You will do fine and so will they. Remember this is supposed to be fun! Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

