Design Wall Monday

2 May

I finished the inner blocks on the “Sunshine and Shadow Nine-Patch” that I designed and was working on last Monday.

Design Floor - It was too big for the wall

Now I’m trying to design a border.  Two sides will be dark fabric and two sides will be light fabric as seen in this EQ picture.  The applique on the dark fabric will be various lights used in the quilt and reversed for the other two sides.  I have drawn out two different designs.  I am leaning towards the plainer border with just leaves because it’s simpler and smaller.  The applique will only be in two corners.

Simple version. Melon shaped leaves and berries.

This one is wider - 9" - and longer. I haven't figured out the corner turn on this one.

The top has to sit in the UFO pile for a while because I need to sew my 9yo a dress… and work is hectic this week… and softball games start this weekend… etc, etc, etc.  But I’ll get going on it sometime in May.

Go to Judy’s Patchwork Times to see more design walls.

7 Responses to “Design Wall Monday”

  1. Kathy May 3, 2010 at 6:18 AM #

    It’s gorgeous…love the layout!
    I like both of your applique ideas, but maybe like the second one a little more 🙂

    • ginaquilts May 3, 2010 at 7:29 AM #

      My sister likes the second one too. She said to put a nine-patch in the corner so I don’t have to turn it at all. Good idea. I may lay that out next to the inner quilt and see how it will look. Thanks!

  2. Gari May 3, 2010 at 7:02 AM #

    I like the second one, too. Maybe just because you said it would be more work? 😉

  3. Diane May 3, 2010 at 7:31 AM #

    wonderful quilt!- either applique will be terrific.

  4. sophie May 3, 2010 at 1:50 PM #

    What a fresh way to set 9-patch blocks. It’s so interesting!

  5. Tea May 3, 2010 at 5:28 PM #

    Beautiful 9-patch quilt.

  6. glen in Louisiana May 3, 2010 at 6:43 PM #

    Boy…..does that look good! I love it!
    glen

Leave a Reply

