Nickels

30 Apr

I’m into 5″ squares or nickels like some people are into Jelly Rolls right now.  I’ve been in exchanges online, hosted exchanges both online and in my former guild, and cut nickels from my stash.  I’ve designed patterns and mystery quilts for nickels.  They are the perfect size for the scrap quilts I make 90% of the time.

My sister, Sonia, is an engineer and a neat person.  Neat as in “cool”… yes, but here I’m referring to neat as in “organized”.  In this respect we were from opposite ends of the gene pool.  Having a neat sister is a HUGE benefit though.  Take this nickel thing, for example.  Miss Neat Engineer bought us storage containers to keep our nickels in.  She even designed bungee cords to help with the weight of the fabric.  Here is my nickel storage container:

Note the bungee cords drilled into the lid and bottom for extra support

Note my name on the lid. She's also a "labeler".

My sister is AWESOME!!  Come organize the rest of my house, Sonia!

I sat and organized my lights and darks this afternoon during the Cubs game/homerun fest.

Reds; Greens; Blues; Earth Tones in the dark layer

Light layer - I'm running low!

Medium values - not organized. I never use mediums...

I obviously need to do some more cutting!  I’m running low which is a good thing, huh?  I’m working my way through my stash one nickel at a time.  🙂

You don’t see any brights in this storage container.  That’s a separate container.  Brights and fun prints.  For kid/baby quilts mostly.

I’m using the darks and lights in the current nine-patch quilt.  This is how far I’ve sewn on the dark side today.

The first four rows are sewn together.

4 Responses to “Nickels”

  1. Sonia April 30, 2010 at 5:42 PM #

    Thanks for making my day! You’re sweet and the best sister ever 🙂 I’m waiting for the go-ahead on your basement organization project.

    • ginaquilts April 30, 2010 at 5:55 PM #

      I’m only the best sister ever because you don’t have another one to show me up!

  2. Judy D May 3, 2010 at 7:58 AM #

    What a great and clever sister! Where can I find these containers??? I wonder if I can talk one of my 4 sisters into organizing for me…I doubt it. 😉

    • ginaquilts May 3, 2010 at 11:42 AM #

      She got them at Joann’s around Christmas. I think they were to store ornaments in. She’s a keeper!

Leave a Reply

