Mac

2 Apr

I took my camera to the barn today specifically to get pictures of how different Mac looks since he’s shedding.  Mac is a 15 year old red roan paint horse.  He’s usually RED roan, but since he’s shedding his winter coat, I all of a sudden have a GRAY horse with a little red on his face and legs!  I don’t even recognize him when I go out to find him in the pasture!

Look at that chest – it’s pure white!  I got him groomed really well with the Ferminator – a deshedding tool.  The poor thing can’t shed his coat fast enough for how quickly the temps shot up this week.

Here’s another picture of Mac with his pasture buddy, Handy. Handy is a beautiful, old lesson horse.  Gianna had a bad ride on him once (he rared a bit on a trail ride) and so now she’s against him.  But he’s a nice, old horse (I think he’s in his mid-20s).

After I groomed him, I took Mac to where the taller grass is growing outside the pasture and let him feast on the good stuff.  He couldn’t get enough of the clover.  He’ll be drooling all night.

I also took a picture of Dakota, the Clydesdale.  She’s a good horse.  Her owner actually rides her on trails and in the arena.  She can supposedly pull a cart, but no one at the barn owns a cart or knows how to drive, so Dakota just gets saddled up like the rest of them and off she goes.

Tomorrow Gianna and I will ride in the arena because it’s supposed to rain.  Gianna hasn’t ridden in a while and needs to get back in the saddle so to speak.

2 Responses to “Mac”

  1. Diana W. April 2, 2010 at 3:42 PM #

    I didn’t know horses shed…hmmm. Of course, I’ve never ridden or even been that close to a horse. Never wanted to either but I think they are beautiful. Just have to be careful around them. They are wild animals and we need to remember that.

  2. Sonia April 2, 2010 at 7:51 PM #

    Great pictures! Mac really looks different. I didn’t know they grew winter coats.

Leave a Reply

