Small Amount of Progress

25 Mar

Yesterday was just a wasted day for the most part.  The dog and I had haircut appointments (different places in case you were wondering…) that seemed to take up the entire day.   I shopped for sashing fabric for the t-shirt quilt and had to go to three different quilt shops to find something passable.  I wanted to go with a medium to dark grey but I couldn’t find exactly what I had envisioned.  I ended up with a light grey swirly kind of fabric.  We’ll have to see if it works out.  Otherwise I’ll have to order online and that will really put me behind schedule.

I tried to focus on the project at hand while shopping but it’s hard.  🙂  When I was putting the borders on each t-shirt, I fed in half square triangles as leaders and enders.  I got a lot of them pieced.  But I don’t have a project in mind to use them so it was just busy-work.  While shopping at the LQS in Princeton, I picked up the tumbler template for my GO! cutter.  Most people who have the GO! cutter seem to have this template.  Quilt historians will call us the tumbler generation because I’ve seen so many of these quilts.  So while the new sashing fabric was washing, I grabbed some stash fabric and cut out the tumblers.  Then I pieced a few together to see how they nestled.

Ahhhh… I can see why there are so many tumbler quilts.  They piece so nicely and are addicting.  Easy-peasy quilt top.  In no time at all, I had 6 rows pieced.  I got up this morning and sewed the rows together.

It’s about 56″ wide and who knows how long it will end up being.  I can totally see me making up little kits and piecing up a storm on charity quilts with these.  This one will go to St. Jude.  The light fabric has girly type things on it.  Gianna thinks it looks like glasses of grape juice.  It does.

I’ll take this part off the design wall and start back on the t-shirt quilt this morning.  I’ll use pairs of these tumblers as leaders and enders and I’m sure this top will be completed tonight – even if the t-shirt quilt isn’t!

2 Responses to “Small Amount of Progress”

  1. Sonia March 25, 2010 at 4:49 PM #

    Tubbler block quilts are not a favorite but I can totally see an “I SPY” quilt with this! I need to do this for Axel…

  2. ginaquilts March 25, 2010 at 5:10 PM #

    Start cutting out 7.5″ squares from some of your wild fabric and then we can GO cut it on Easter.

Leave a Reply

