Design Wall Monday

22 Mar

I don’t have anything on my design wall from two weeks ago (my last Design Wall Monday post).  I’ve either finished them (Heaven forbid) or tucked them away for inspiration on how to complete the next step.  But here is my progress on the tumbling blocks wall hanging that I started hand piecing last weekend.

I need to finish piecing the corner blocks then whack off the diamond points and add a black border all the way around.  Then it’ll go on the “to be quilted” pile.  I really want to hand quilt this but I’m starting to waver on this.  The wall hanging will be hung in my office and I can’t bear to look at shoddy work while I’m staring at it from across the desk.  I’m not sure if I’ve practiced enough for hand quilting that will actually show.

I’ve enjoyed the hand piecing (except for the blister on my thumb).  I will do another tumbling blocks hand pieced top – maybe a bed sized one.  My intersections were fairly accurate and I found the process relaxing.

I’m  on spring break this week so the to-do-list has quilting, quilting, and more quilting on it.  And some household chores to pretend that I’m getting something else done.  🙂

Check out Judy L’s Patchwork Times for more design wall inspirations this Monday.

5 Responses to “Design Wall Monday”

  1. Kathy Wagner March 22, 2010 at 8:03 AM #

    This is lovely! And all hand pieced? Great job!

  2. Pam Achatz March 22, 2010 at 9:04 AM #

    Beautiful. I love hand piecing and hand quilting!!

  3. Lois/Goblinf March 22, 2010 at 12:07 PM #

    that’s lovely – and a lot of work!

  4. Amy C March 22, 2010 at 9:21 PM #

    I really like the tumbling blocks. Cool that you are doing this by hand.

  5. Diane March 23, 2010 at 5:31 AM #

    oh that is an awesome quilt, I always like black as a background makes those colors just sparkle!

Leave a Reply

