Design Wall Monday

8 Mar

I didn’t work on too much this week.  I worked on my whipstitch hexagon project and got 4 of the 6 points done.  Two in this picture are not attached to the body yet.

I like whipstitching the hexagons together but I don’t like making the hexagons.  Folding over those edges is so boring and tedious.  I like to see progress and a finished product!  So needless to say, I do a dozen or so, then put those together… then do some more.  Spread out the boring parts.

I also started quilting my sister’s “One Block Wonder”.  She didn’t care for the way this turned out so she said I could just play with the quilting.

So far I’ve just quilted the center and outer border.  I thought I was going to go blind trying not to cross lines in my swirl pattern!  It’s very busy and for the most part the lime green thread blended so well, I couldn’t tell what was quilted and what wasn’t!  Now I have the two inner borders to complete this week.

It’s been a while since I did any custom quilting so after I practice on these borders, I’m going to load a custom quilt top and do some low end custom quilting.  I have only done pantographs and freehand allovers for about 6 months.

Hop on over to Judy’s Patchwork Times to see what’s on other quilters’ design walls this Monday!

4 Responses to “Design Wall Monday”

  1. Diane March 8, 2010 at 7:36 AM #

    I’m taking a One Block Wonder class this weekend. I’ve been wanting to make one for a long time.

  2. Kathy Wagner March 8, 2010 at 8:37 AM #

    That’s the best way to practise quilting….use a project that isn’t well loved and have some fun without worrying about the outcome!

  3. Teajuana Mahone March 8, 2010 at 3:26 PM #

    I like your progress on the hexagon quilt. Keep going, keep going. It’s very pretty.

  4. Sonia March 9, 2010 at 2:34 PM #

    Oh my, what a lovely 1-block wonder! What was I thinking? I’m slipping this one in the Paducah shipping box so no pressure on the quilting ;o)

Leave a Reply

