Design Wall Monday

1 Mar

Last week was a weird week.  I didn’t feel like working on any thing so I just toodled around with a number of different projects.  Here’s my design wall.  More than likely, not a single one of these pieces will actually turn into a full-blown quilt project.

Left to right:  The hexagons.  If this gets finished it will just be a center medallion for a small wall hanging.  As I said in a previous post, I’m basing this design off a coaster my 8yo made with beads.  See this post for the picture of the coaster.

The 2″ half-square triangles.  Playing with my GO! cutter.  But really?  Am I going to make an entire quilt with these itsy bitsy blocks?  Probably not…. maybe a doll quilt or center medallion or nothing at all.

BOMs:  January and February blocks of the month are completed.  I traced March’s onto freezer paper and am ready to begin that block.

I also bound two quilts YESTERDAY!  Two in one day… no pics though.  My 8yo loaded needles with thread for me so I could keep sewing with no breaks.  She’s wonderful and is available for rent to quilting bees.  Just kidding… 🙂  about the rent part – she’s still wonderful!

6 Responses to “Design Wall Monday”

  1. Diane March 1, 2010 at 8:31 AM #

    Love your wall, the HST block is really cool.

  2. Teajuana March 1, 2010 at 8:33 AM #

    You had a very productive week. Experimenting is so much fun. I like all of your projects. BTW, I could see the HSTs in a larger quilt. It’s very pretty.

  3. Sonia March 1, 2010 at 8:50 AM #

    Hey, the HSTs can be used for an interesting framing for T-shirt quilts. I picked up another T-shirt for my Chi-town sports quilt and I think that’s it’s going to be all different sizes for the t-shirt cutouts. So I’m going to have to have some fun colored areas to fill up with something like the HSTs. BTW, I could make an entire Cubs t-shirt quilt because there’s so many t-shirts I could be buying!

    I need to borrow that 8yo when I go rummaging through the Goodwill Store for the t-shirts!

  4. Kathy Wagner March 1, 2010 at 9:15 AM #

    Lucky you to have an assistant to help you! Love the flower basket blocks!

  5. Melinda March 1, 2010 at 2:54 PM #

    The hexagons based on the coaster is great. It will be fun to see the progress on it.

  6. Brenda March 1, 2010 at 8:29 PM #

    I love that you just took some time to play!! And who knows what you will do with those HST!! I like them – they will make a great pillow, or a future quilt!!! enjoy the play time!!

Leave a Reply

