Spring Break Day 4

11 Mar

Do you know why I don’t get anything accomplished? Because I have the attention span of a 5 year old! I was cleaning my sewing room yesterday morning when I ran across these basket blocks.

20140311-093649.jpg
These are the perfect blocks to get back into appliqué. They are simple, contain curves and reverse appliqué, and easy to prep and sew. So what do I do? I stop cleaning and prep another 6 blocks! This is obviously another project that will never get done. But it’s so much fun to play with these. It took me an hour to prep these six additional blocks and then I actually sewed one during my lunch while watching a recorded episode of “The Good Wife”.

Other things that got done yesterday:
1. I took Hawk on a 1.75 mile walk. I don’t know who was more tired – Hawk or me! That dog is getting to be a chunker. We both need to get back on our daily walks. Nicer weather will help tremendously.
2. I sewed this block.

20140311-094113.jpg
The 2013 Scrap Squad is continuing to work together and we selected one member to receive blocks from each of us. She picked the color yellow – with a touch of gray. So that’s the block I chose to make. I’m sending it off today. I tend to not follow through with the actual sending part.

3. I sorted through my yarn and got the majority of it packed up and ready to put in storage for the summer. I kept out the sock yarn and am storing only the worsted.

4. I continued to sort through my scraps of fabric and organize them into my bins. I have a long way to go for that.

5. I have both sock legs finished and will start the heel flap today.

And truthfully…. That’s all that got done yesterday. The play practices at night are going from 5:30-8pm so that takes up a huge chunk of my time. I brought home two costumes to alter for Cinderella. Today I’m getting my hair cut and colored. I’m not planning on today being very productive either!

3 Responses to “Spring Break Day 4”

  1. Anne Wiens March 12, 2014 at 12:12 PM #

    Quilting is soooooo much more fun than cleaning!

  2. Sonia Burgess March 12, 2014 at 3:01 PM #

    Please stop going through your stash of unfinished blocks! I just know there’s a Sunbonnet Sue lurking in the dark recesses of your UFO pile just waiting for you to find her 😉

  3. trkingmomoe March 15, 2014 at 5:08 AM #

    I like the baskets in the blocks.

Leave a comment