Spring Break Day 1

8 Mar

Yesterday began my 10 days of spring break! There is still snow on the ground and it’s nowhere near spring-like temperatures outside, but it is officially spring break for me. I immediately began a list of what I need to accomplish this week. There’s housework (cleaning, laundry, etc); stuff I’ve been putting off (appointments for haircut, car detailing, windshield replaced); school work (grading, prepping, etc); knitting and sewing; and exercising. If I get all the things done on my list, I should be thoroughly exhausted and asking to return to work!

After Day 1, my house is cleaned (thanks mostly to my mom!) and there’s a good dent in my laundry. I’m trying to sew for an hour a day every day this week. I won’t get the bow tie quilt top done with just an hour a day, but I will get a nice dent into a few rows. I finished knitting my green scarf and it’s blocking as I type. I started a mindless pair of socks – Hermione’s Everyday Socks.

20140308-102334.jpg

I always knit two socks at the same time – but separately. Sounds strange but that way I never have “second sock syndrome”. Two socks get completed at nearly the same time. This is a simple pattern knit from the cuff down. That’s not my favorite way to knit socks, but I thought I’d follow the pattern this time instead of changing it to fit my whim. This yarn is so patterned that I won’t see the stitch pattern well, but that’s fine. I don’t want to get caught up in a complex pattern and then can’t put it down to do other stuff this week.

I’ll try to report back each day on what I get done. My hopes are high for a very productive break!

2 Responses to “Spring Break Day 1”

  1. mosaicthinking March 8, 2014 at 2:19 PM #

    Hope you meet your goals for your spring break. I have spent the past week away from home and away from my projects and I’m busting to get my hands on some yarn again.

  2. Sonia Burgess March 8, 2014 at 4:44 PM #

    Have a great Spring Break vacation. How about a mani/pedi for yourself too?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

